Board Outline must not contain any data...

Board Outline must not contain any data...

Postby otto9K9otto » Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:00 pm

I am qualifying a circuit board that is round except for one notch. I started out with a round outline, then I created the notch (in the board outline) with ViewMate Deluxe. Now I am going through the DFM module, and it seems to think that "the board outline contains data other that path". I click on "show errors in ViewMaster EZ": up pops the area where I created the notch, filled with arrows indicating where I moved the curser in (trace) scratch mode to erase a section of old board outline.

This brings up three questions:
Was there a better way to erase a section of board outline, other than my method of going into (trace) scratch mode?
Where is this data (that the DFM module is choking on) located?
How can I edit this extraneous data?

I have tried to attached the bin file, but the forum system will not allow bin files. So I suppose "how do I attach a file for analysis" becomes a fourth question. Thanks in advance.
otto9K9otto
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:56 pm

Re: Board Outline must not contain any data...

Postby max » Fri Mar 19, 2010 2:44 am

Hello Otto,

I'm not sure how to attach a file. Perhaps someone else can answer this question.

Please save a bin file and email to me at support@pentalogix.com.

Thanks,

Max
max
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:10 am

Re: Board Outline must not contain any data...

Postby max » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:42 pm

Hello Otto,

You can create your board outline by inserting two arcs and two traces.

I have written a brief application note of how to accomplish this. I have returned the application note to you via email.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

All the best,

Max
max
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:10 am

Re: Board Outline must not contain any data...

Postby otto9K9otto » Sat Mar 20, 2010 5:16 pm

Wow! A "personal app note"! Thanks!
otto9K9otto
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:56 pm

Re: Board Outline must not contain any data...

Postby max » Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:03 pm

Hello Otto,

We try to please . . .

:>}

There is a problem with the current Smart DFM. It will report false Minimum Drill Clearance errors with your design. Also, if you are running the "Analyze My Design" mode . . . you cannot eliminate the "Hole Density" DFM Rule problem.

Both of these issues will be corrected by tomorrow.

All the best,

Max
max
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 7:10 am

Re: Board Outline must not contain any data...

Postby darla » Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:06 am

thanks, that helped me a lot!
If you are looking for fast success in a+ lab then join security+ course to find complete comptia security+ resources and pass www.ndm.edu certifications on first try. A person can pick Johnson University Florida
darla
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 4:01 am


Return to Support Q&A for Smart DFM Modules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron